Guest Reviews

See why so many families, couples and groups love Cabin Fever

“We’re old fans of Cabin Fever. It’s a cool getaway spot with rustic cabins surrounded by numerous tall trees. Even though the main road is not that far away, you really feel like you’re in the woods. The cabins are old but clean enough and sufficiently equipped with the necessary cooking utensils, etc. You bring your own linens or it can be supplied for a small fee. There’s nothing quite like sipping coffee on the porch and being surrounded by stillness and lovely green trees. The only comments we would add is to replace the mildewy shower curtain and include a couple of brighter light bulbs because it’s super dim at night. Thanks for having us!”

 

Visited from Charleston, SC – Sept. 2019

“Six of us stayed comfortably in the Ma & Pa cabin. Clean, well equipped with everything we needed for cooking. Love the heated floor in bathroom. Owner Dana was very nice and accommodating. AND…cannot forget Remington, the property dog that kept us company during our stay.”

Visited from Adams Run, SC – Oct. 20198

“We had our first experience at Cabin Fever, “Ma and Pa’s cabin” in November, 2019. We saw an advertisement and HAD to check it out. Our grandkids call us Ma and Pa! So, we booked it and took our kids and grandkids. It was just wonderful. The hosts for Cabin Fever were very friendly. We loved the rustic look of the cabin and we had plenty of room for all eight of us. This cabin offers a king bed and twin with trundle main level, and the loft had a full or queen bed, a twin and a sofa. The screened porch is huge and it was so nice sitting out, listening to the creek flowing, swinging, and playing checkers. We loved our visit and definitely plan to go again. Our family calls this visit a “Do over”!”

 

Visited Nov. 2019

“Comfy beds, Netflix & Utube, quiet, close to Hendersonville. Saluda is quaint & historical. The caretakers very friendly & accomodating. 45mins. to Asheville. Had coffee maker, microwave, stove, toaster, comfy sofa. Fire pit in back of cabin. Very rustic but modern ammenities. Fire in buck stove was fabulous!!”

 

Visited from Newberry, SC – Nov. 2019

“We’ve been going to Cabin Fever for the last 12 years or so and have always really enjoyed it. The secluded cabins are nestled in the woods and are very rustic but at the same time they have everything you need in the way of amenities – heat, electricity, nice bathroom, kitchen, wifi, etc. – to keep you comfortable. A wood burning stove, roomy front porch, big screened in back porch, high ceilings, and a loft provide plenty of room to enjoy it all and at a reasonable cost. The hosts, Eric and Dana, are always very helpful for when you might need anything including information about all the things to do in the area such as drives/hikes to lots and lots of waterfalls and row upon row of mountain vistas. In addition to the nearby charming little town of Saluda, Hendersonville and Asheville are a relatively short drive away and have everything one could need in the way of shops, restaurants, craft breweries, etc.”

 

Visited from Garner, NC – Nov. 2019

“This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Cabin Fever, we were pleased yet again. We are already figuring a time to go back again…and we only live 30 minutes away. The cabins are always clean, satisfyingly rustic while maintaining fantastic amenities. The family that owns and operates the facility are always so friendly and down to Earth…especially Joanie!”

 

Visited from Asheville, NC – Nov. 2019

“We stayed in Buzzards Roost and Birds Nest and LOVED both cabins. We are already excited for our next trip back. I hate writing this review and exclaiming how perfect it is at Cabin Fever. It feels like I’m giving away a gem or a secret that I want to keep to myself! If you are looking for rustic and a place where you can “check out from your everyday life”- look no further. The location is 6 miles out of town, it is remote and a perfect spot to get in and off the highway. I knew that I wanted to visit Asheville but did not want the traffic of Asheville. Another reason to book here. Also, the owners and the coon dog Remy make this spot even more special. When we left Remy jogged behind us as if to say see you later!”

 

Visited Nov. 2019

Spent a few days with family . What great vacation, absolutely beautiful. We were checked in by wonderful friendly people, The cabin was rustic, but very clean and comfortable. The whole experience was fun , relaxing and beautiful.

Flo F (visited from Florida, June 2019)

The cabins were very well equipped and nicely decorated. The mom & pop cabin had a wrap around porch overlooking a babbling brook, and a loft as well as a master suite with a king sized bed. The caretakers were very pleasant and hospitable… All of this and it was secluded from the other cabins in the woods. 

-Michael S (visited June 2019)

The cabins are nestled amongst the trees with a covered picnic area and a fire pit with 6 chairs that were available to anybody staying in their cabins. Also, there is a playground, small pond, and a water wheel on the property as well. It’s located close to hiking trails to different falls, a lake, and essential shopping needs and restaurants.

-Kathleen G (stayed in Summer Breeze May 2019)

We were there for 4 days in January and it was perfect getaway after the holiday season. We stayed in Ma and Pa’s cabin, which is perfect for 2 to 8 people. There was firewood for the Buck Stove waiting for us when we got there and the creek flowing by the front porch made you want to stay outside on the screened porch the whole time. Going back in several weeks to do the nearby zipline tour. 

-Mike (January 2019)

Very nice place to stay. The cabins are rustic on the outside but updated and cozy on the inside And the caretakers are very kind and helpful. We went for a weekend getaway and had a great time! I highly recommend staying at Cabin Fever!

-Joel M (visited April 2019)

 

My third time staying and I’m never disappointed. Eric and Dana are fantastic care takers. Cabins are as described. We are always comfortable and relaxed.

-Kim E,  visited (this time) May 2019

Great, friendly staff. Beautiful scenery. What more can you ask for?

-David H (repeat guest) visited November 2018

Just spent an awesome long weekend in the Bird Nest. Highly recommend for anyone wanting the feel of the deep woods but still a short drive to many things to do and see. And don’t forget that you must spend 30 minutes a day in a rocking chair.

-Michael S (visited September 2018)

Love this place. Cabin we stayed in had everything you need. Quiet, secluded. Great place to reboot yourself. Close to Hendersonville, NC & Asheville, NC. Plenty of things to see & do or just sit back & relax.

-Robin B (repeat guest), visited October 2108

Stayed at the South Fork cabin for 3 wonderful nights. Very rustic and nice. The whole property has an amazing tree canopy the keeps it shady. Love the group area with things for kids and adults to do. To me it felt like I had stepped out of the real world. Truly relaxing. Dana and Eric are very kind people who try to accommodate all your needs. Give it a shot. Look forward to coming back.

-David N. (visited August 2018)

 

Gorgeous cabin, fantastic customer service. Stayed in the Ma and Pa cabin. It has anything and everything you need to get away in one place. My family and I had the best weekend here. Lots of great hiking trails, even made it up the hardest trail to find the hidden swings. Peaceful campfires at night. Far enough away from all the other cabins so you don’t hear or see anyone. Would highly recommend Cabin Fever to anyone that’s looking for a great get away.

-Jessica R. (visited June 2018)

The friendlinest staff
The Comfort and Peace and Quiet
Much better than a motel

-Kathy D (August 2018)

We had a fantastic time. The hosts, Eric and Dana are wonderful. The cabin was rustic and charming. The scenery was fabulous. The grandkids had a blast on the trails, playground, zip line, creek, etc. We will definitely return.

-Sandy E (June 2018)

Beautiful location with very well maintained & clean cabins. We loved our stay in Good Times. Perfect for our sons and our little dog. My 6 yr claimed the loft as his “fort” and we had plenty of space left for us. Highly recommend Cabin Fever for a peaceful family get-away and we will be coming back next spring! Thanks to Eric and Dana!

-Luke D, Summerville, SC (April 2018)

My wife and I wanted to take our kids somewhere to unplug and get away for a weekend to recharge our batteries. Our stay at Ma and Pas at Cabin fever was perfect. My in laws came for some quality time with the grandkids and loved every second of it. The accommodations were spacious and afforded all the amenities you might be looking for. The bathroom even had a heated tile floor!!! Amazing scenery and tons of activities are very close by. The only problem is we wanted to stay longer. Can’t say enough good things about our experience (even the kids want to go back)!

-Craig, from Ackworth Georgia (visited August 2018)

Came to Cabin Fever with a bunch of friends and had an outstanding stay. From the get-go the hospitality was more than expected. The cabins, while rustically gorgeous, still offer life’s little comforts. Luxurious beds, hot showers, and lovely porches on which you can sip your morning coffee. We hiked to a waterfall for a picnic and drove into Asheville to visit the local breweries among other fun things. Can’t wait to go back!!! Love this place!

Angela G, Seattle WA (visited April 2018)

AMAZING place! So well kept, beautiful, and extremely relaxing. If you’re on the fence about staying somewhere go with Cabin Fever!!!!

-Elyse (visited April, 2018)

Always a wonderful time at Cabin Fever!! We visit a couple of times a year! My favorite season is winter, I love the wood burning stove, and the outdoor fire pit!!! Can’t wait for the cooler weather!!! See y’all again soon!!!

-Terri M, visited (this time) September 2018

Always love to stay at Cabin Fever! Can’t wait to plan our next visit!

-Jenna M

Awesome quiet getaway!

-Mike (December 2017)

We went to Cabin Fever with a group of law students, celebrating our graduation and had the best time imaginable. Management was very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The cabin itself was beautiful and cozy (better than the pictures), very spacious and equipped with an unlimited supply of fire wood. The campus is beautiful and has many scenic trails with mini waterfalls and fishing ponds, and we were completely undisturbed for the duration of our trip. It is also the perfect distance from Asheville (~30 mins) so we got the outdoor experience with hiking and grilling by the fire but also were able to take day trips to Asheville for brewery tours. Thank you Cabin Fever for a phenomenal trip. We’ll be back!

-Nolan (May 2017)

My 8 year old loved the Good Times cabin. Mostly for the outside checker board. It was close to the playground and zip line, and a little ways from the pond. We could hear the creek from our back porch. Cant wait to go back in the winter!

-Dustin W (July 2017)

It is the most amazing place in the world!!! Peaceful and relaxing. I didn’t want to leave. Dana and Eric are fabulous! We are already planing our next stay at High Top! Loved loved loved that cabin!! Thank you for a perfect vacation!!

-Carey B (visited May 2017)

Our family of 8 had a fabulous time in the Ma and Pa cabin this weekend! Beautiful stream, wonderful playground complete with zip line and most importantly, family time in the quiet seclusion of nature all just 2 miles from town! It was perfect!

-Juliett C (February 2017)

What a great little family vacation\camping spot. A friend of ours recommended Cabin Fever and we’re fortunate they did. Our kids like to camp, but let’s just say we’re not into roughing it too much. You get the best of both worlds here at Cabin Fever and you’ll be well taken care of by the team that runs the place. Eric and Dana were a pleasure to meet and spend a little time with. They made sure we were happy with out accommodations several times during our stay. we rented the High Top and it was great – more room than we needed for four of us, but it was still nice to stretch out and give the kids some space which they enjoyed. 

-Vince P, April 2018

Growing up I attended a nearby sleep-away summer camp. I dream of the day I can send my children to summer camp when they are old enough, however, I have been craving that feeling of being back at camp myself. The cedar smell of the cabin, cool mountain mornings, evening walks among the tall trees, leaving the real world luxuries… This perfect combination that would meet my expectations would be difficult, if not impossible, to recreate, however, Cabin Fever did it! We so thoroughly enjoyed every minute at the cabin (Good Times) and on the grounds. Even though the property was almost entirely booked, we felt like we were there by ourselves. Every last detail brought us to exactly where we wanted to be, tucked away in the mountains. What a treasure we have found! See you again soon, Dana and Eric!

-TripAdvisor Reviewer, August 2017

Eric and Dana were outstanding hosts! We had our first annual cousins trip in 2016 and we’ve already booked for 2017. All of our families talk about Cabin Fever all the time. The zipline is the highlight for the kids. The freedom they have around Cabin Fever is great!

-Christie T (visits every summer)

This was our 2nd time staying in High Top! We have also stayed at Ma and Pas, South Fork, Buzzard Roost and Birds Nest. We love Cabin Fever because it is always so relaxing. We came from Vero Beach, FL, so coming up here is always a nice change of scenery. As always, Cabin Fever has provided the perfect atmosphere for us to bond as a family and grow closer together. Positive memories will always be linked to Cabin Fever and we hope others love this place as much as we do. 

The King Family (visited December 2016)

We came back to Ma and Pa’s after three years. Oh, the memories at this place! One son, daughter-in-law and two grand kids made the trip with us. Wonderful time! Thank you. 

The Disbrow family, Columbia SC (visited November 2016)

Been coming here for years and love it! Relaxing, quiet, away from the hustle and bustle. Thank you, 

Kathie D. from Monroe, NC (January 2017)

We arrived to find plenty of snow on the ground. Soooo exciting! We threw snowballs at each other and attempted to build a snow man. We walked, took amazing pictures, and thoroughly enjoyed the snow. Eric had a cozy fire going in stove when we checked in so the cabin was toasty warm. We love the cabin. What a wonderful day! On Wendesday, we went into Hendersonville and shopped and had amazing dinner out. Today, had a great breakfast at Wards in Downtown Saluda. A wonderful 3 days!  PS Ted rode the zipline 3 times- not bad for a 75 year old guy!

Ted and Laura from Saluda, South Carolina (January 2017)

As a first time visitor, and first experience spending the holidays with my boyfriend’s family, Good Times presented the most magical memories. Thank You for creating and having space for all tho enjoy. The playground and zipline were so great for the (adult) kids and the little ones! Playing games at the kitchen table, cooking and doing dishes together, s’mores by the fire, and hammocking on the porch were some of my favorites. Then the magical rain on the tin roof gave us a zen-like last sleep to send us off. 

Jojo from Christiansburg, VA (December 2016)

Such a beautiful quiet plave to reconnect with family and nature.  We first went to Pearson’s Falls, later we stepped our way up to the very top of Chimney Rock. We also went to Sky Top Orchard (make sure to get the apple donuts and get some to bring home, too). We spent endless hours on the zipline and even roasted hot dogs and marshmallows. Beds were so comfortable and the cabin sleeps so good. The water is hot and feels great after a day of hiking! **Favorite part of vacation: seeing my children (ages 9 and 5) playing with each other outside instead of being on the “gadgets.”

The Bells from St Augustine, FL (September 2016)

First time in NC; this is where we came for our honeymoon and it was the best choice by far! We went to Asheville outlets, then to Pearson’s Falls, Downtown Saluda, and did a candlelight tour and rooftop tour of the Biltmore. We finished the trip by driving the Blue Ridge Parkway- breathtaking views of God’s creation! We couldn’t imagine having gone anywhere else for out honeymoon. Bird’s Nest is definitely a great place to stay and we will be back!

Dalton and Abbey (visited New Year’s 2017)

We so enjoyed the Birds Nest. So glad we “landed” here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We enjoyed popping over to Hendersonville and into Saluda. Marvelled at Pearson’s Falls and Jump Off Rock. Did a bit of shopping too! Hate we have to “fly the coop” tomorrow… Hope to return. 

Carol and Chris from Columbia, SC (visited October 2016)

We loved our stay in this cozy little cabin.  Wish we had more time to enjoy the cold winter and the warm buck stove!

Tyson H. and family, Thanksgiving 2016

We are so happy we found Cabin Fever and were able to enjoy the beautiful outdoors of North Carolina for the beginning of 2017. We arrived at Buzzards Roost on the 30th, and the following day went skiing about an hour away. In the days that followed, we hiked up to the swing (take the trail behind High Top), explored the old town of Saluda, and hopped over rocks to cross the stream on our way to the nearby waterfall. We also enjoyed playing checkers on the porch, late night games of Apples to apples and charades, and warming up with cocoa and tea by the buck stove. This was a lovely getaway from the humid Florida heat back home!

Raimo and Nina K (and family), visiting over New Years 2017

It was a rainy weekend but nothing like a tin roof to put the little ones to sleep.  They have never napped so easily.  We loved the town of Saluda and all the little shops and restaurants. It was great to hang out as a family in close quarters. We would absolutely do it again. 

The McIntyre family from Shelby, NC (visited August 2016)

The rest, relaxation and de-stressing were what we were sorely in need of.  Your facilities and land couldn’t have been more perfect. We had so much fun on the zipline– just ask Bob! Thanks again for the experience of a simpler life, even if just for a few days. Everyone should do this and get away from the crazy life for a bit. God sure does make this place in the world special! As do you! 

Fondly,  the Dangerfields from Conway, SC (November 2016)

We had a wonderful time here. It is a beautiful place and perfect for just the two of us. We really enjoyed ziplining, white water rafting, and the waterfall you recommended. We definitely plan to be back. 

-Maria and Dean from Ehrhardt, SC

We have thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We came here with our daughter and two grandchildren. We enjoyed the cabin and grounds and exploring the area. Your playground and zipline have been especially enjoyable and quite a hit. We visited apple orchards, historic downtown Hendersonville, and Dupont State Forest. Thanks for the memories!

-Skipper family from Ozark, MO (October 2016)

The Birds Nest was a perfect perch for a weekend of relaxation and introspection! We wandered out only to watch the meteor shower and tube down the river, otherwise cloistered inside reading good books and talking for hours on the porch. I am rested and rejuvenated. 

Traci Q from Sumter, SC (Visited August 2016)

We really had a great time here. Spent one day in Hendersonville and one day in Saluda. Our dog enjoyed exploring the woods. We enjoyed the peace and quiet. The cabin was great and we had everything we needed. Great getaway spot. We will be back!

-Danny and Deborah from Spartanburg, SC (visited November 2016)

Reviews & Ratings

Five old friends from Oak Hill School,
Sought a place to laugh and drool.
Found a cabin deep in the trees,
Climbed the hills with creaking knees.
Gathered ’round and sat on logs,
Built a fire and roasted dogs.
Loved each other and remembered when,
Made a plan to return again!

Thank you CF – We had a great time, even with the rain!

Linda, Wanda, Rita, Ellen & Ann

Join Our Newsletter